I Take A Swing At NaPoWriMo

WritingThe next evolution for National Novel Writing Month begins in just seven agonizing months! Until that time, my brain needs exercise. As luck would have it, there are creative people willing to try new things. Thus I’ve taken up with other writers for National Poetry Writing Month.

A reasonable disclaimer at this point:  it took me eons to actually enjoy poetry. I was lambasted in my poetry analysis during AP English, so a grudge had developed in due course. It was some time before the beauty and color behind good words came to impress me. That being said, I’ve never written a word of poetry in my life. Well, first time for everything. I will invoke some lovely guidance from NaPoWriMo founder Maureen Thorson:

I’d suggest that people “let go” of any preconceived notions of what poems have to look like or be about. A poem can rhyme, or not. It can be in a traditional form, or not. It can be about something like love or death, or . . . it could be about how much you like the smell of new erasers. Again, this project is more about getting words down than on making sure they’re perfect. You can always edit later — like in May!

You can see my humorous attempt to pop out 30 poems in 30 days in my new Wreative Criting section. Close your eyes and think of England!

Leave a Reply

