Poetry Day 1: The Prompt

IMG_pizzaThe people at NaPoWriMo suggested it might be fun to start a poem using a line from a familiar piece. I shall therefore take my first swing at Nat’l Poetry Writing Month with a line from Master Bill’s Sonnet 18:

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?

You are more delicious than pizzas past

Although lactose intolerant I sample your cheesy surface

And recall fondly warm nights of boxed delivery

Still laden with grease and fat I weigh your cons

And exchange such points with a sunny jaunt to woods or beach

Air heated from sun melds with air heated from oven

Searching for napkin but passing for sleeve in your time of messy delight

And while I do not question the origin of your pepperoni

And whether cow or pig or squirrel was thus involved

Scrumptious and soothing, I savor your sliced goodness

Lo, I am fulleth of your glory.

Leave a Reply

