Poetry Day 3: My Brother, the Helper

on

You’ve got to hand it to poetry enthusiasts. This is no walk in the park. And for anyone who wants to crank out 30 poems in 30 days for National Poetry Writing Month, I tip my hat to you. I’m only on the third day!

My brother, the helper

Endowed with wit and charm,

My brother needs no other resource

And is content to pad his world

With humor, love, and candor.

Helper of friends, helper of family,

The constant gentleman

Deserving of trial like any man

But rewarded at last with happiness.

Helper of strangers, helper of mates,

On every new adventure

Equipped for trail or hill or road

His soul was meant to wander.

Helper of parents, helper of brothers,

The delight of our small clan

He lives with laugh and strength and heart

And among my list of heroes.

Leave a Reply

