All Fired Up for NaNoWriMo!

on

Eleven days. 264 hours. Three billion nanoseconds. My math is horrible, but who cares? On November 1, I take my hands out of ice and strike the keyboard for National Novel Writing Month. It’s a nationwide challenge for writers to pen a 50,000-word novella in 30 days. This is my sixth or seventh year as a participant. There’s no title or reward, other than the satisfaction of a completed challenge. NaNoWriMo doesn’t want you to write the next great American novel. They just want you to write. That’s the beauty of it:  you’re compelled to put ideas into action and write, write, write until your deadline on Nov. 30. I’ll keep you updated on my progress next month, if I’m not bashing the writer’s block out of my head with a sturdy hammer.

Leave a Reply

