Recipe Of The Week: Cheeseburger Cups

My attempt at taco cups turned into cheeseburger cups. But hey, they go down too fast to notice!

fullsizerender-3The cooking section of my blog has documented many silly attempts at cooking. Measurements are not really my thing. I only use woks so I can flip them like they do in restaurant commercials, and I end up scraping ingredients off the stovetop. I don’t take good care of pots and pans. My cooking style is playful and foolhardy, for I am just an amateur who can screw up a meal and get something else. I once made blueberry pancake cobbler, a total breakfast blunder, but it still tasted good with maple syrup.

My last good swing was with taco cups. I did okay, but admittedly missed a key ingredient that converted my appetizer into cheeseburger cups. It was a forgiving recipe for a guy who has no idea what he’s doing in the kitchen.

Cheeseburger cups (not taco cups)

What I used for the job:

  • Muffin tray/tin/the thing we use to bake muffins
  • Ground beef (I used ground turkey)
  • Finely diced peppers
  • Round tortillas
  • One egg
  • Shredded cheese
  • Sour cream

What I vaguely remember doing to make them:

  1. With a sharp knife, trim each tortilla to make squares. Trim each big square into four  smaller  squares. (Save the trimmings for my tortilla chips recipe!)
  2. Cook the ground meat in a skillet/frying pan/a slab of hot metal.
  3. Stir your diced peppers in with the meat. At this point, I had forgotten to add taco flavoring, which negated my taco cup recipe. The peppers were a substitute. For my next try, I’ll be sure to add some nice flavoring.
  4. Spray down your muffin tray, then press a square into each muffin cup.
  5. Add a spoonful of ground meat to each cup, then sprinkle with shredded cheese.
  6. Press another square over each cup, then repeat previous step.
  7. Brush egg on the edges of the tortilla squares to make them nice and crispy.
  8. Bake at around 375 degrees for 11-13 minutes until the cheese is melted and the tortillas are golden brown. Serve with a dollop of sour cream and enjoy!

What do you think of this recipe? Worth a try, or a lost cause? Tried anything different? Post your comments below!

Leave a Reply

