Bonus Recipe: Tortilla Chips

I consumed my entire supply in less than three days. . . .

img_2426I remember one of Gary Larson’s Far Side cartoons about an elderly cave man critiquing a group of hunters as they tore up a dead wooly mammoth: “You’re throwing away the tail? Son, in my day, we used every part of the mammoth.”

That being said, I trimmed off parts of some round tortillas in making my cheeseburger cups, but just couldn’t part with them. Why throw them away? I figured I could fry ’em and eat ’em and go on my merry way. Thus was forged in the hellfire of vegetable oil my delicious tortilla chips, which is this week’s bonus recipe for my wonderful readers.

Tortilla Chips

What I used:

  • Tortilla strips (If you read my cheeseburger cup recipe, you’ll know how to get them; if otherwise, cut up some tortillas into triangular or thin, half-circles.)
  • 1 cute little egg
  • Vegetable oil
  • Cinnamon
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Plastic bags

How I vaguely remember making them:

  1. Heat vegetable oil in a sauce pan
  2. Dip each tortilla strip into an egg mixture
  3. Carefully slide each strip into the sauce pan, frying them for five seconds on each side
  4. Using tongs, carefully lift each fried chip out of the oil and drain on paper towels
  5. When slightly cooled, place some in a baggie and shake with a mixture of cinnamon and sugar (I used some leftover maple sugar from the great state of Vermont); repeat this step with other chips in a bag with a mixture of salt and pepper

The salt and pepper variety was the most delicious in my opinion, but the Wife enjoyed the cinnamon and sugar chips. Perhaps I’ll create different mixtures the next time around!

Do you have any similar recipes for homemade chips? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

